I’m Too Social

Posted: May 14, 2012 in Uncategorized

In our first class I didn’t have the opportunity to introduce myself, my reason for taking the class, and what I was hoping to take a way from the program so I thought I’d use my first blog entry to do so.

I recently started a new position with a company called The WHITING Group of Canada; a holdings company that includes 6 companies/brands.  We specialize in roll-up doors for the transportation industry, extruded aluminum roll-up doors for emergency vehicles, and LED lighting.  I was hired approx. 6 weeks ago as thier marketing coordinator and am very excited about the projects I am currently working on.

We recently launched our social media program, QR Code integration, and we are in the process of revamping our website and integrating e-commerce functionality.  Once that is complete we will be revamping our print media, doing video integration, e-newsletters, and promote future acquisitions….so a lot going on.

The main reason I took this program was to increase my functionality when it comes to utilizing social media as a productive sales tool as well as how to tie in those form of media within our website to diversify our content.  I have already implemented the social media program/promotion and am already seeing a lot of progress.

If you would like to see the kind of stuff I’m working on please feel free to follow the following on Twitter:
@AMDORinc, @LumaBarInc, @WHITING_Canada

“Like” us on Facebook:
Whiting Canada, Amdor Inc., Luma-Bar

Also check out:
www.whitingcanada.com
www.amdor.com
www.lumabar.com
www.commandlift.com
www.drwsupplies.com

….more to come

All the best,

Brent

Comments
  1. Hi Brent! That sounds like an interesting company to work for. I don’t know much about QR codes but that seems to be more and more a good tool for brands.

  2. dcavasin says:

    QR code is all the rage, how do plan on using it? (advertising, a campaign, etc.)

  3. We are currently using it at trade shows to promote our facebook & twitter accounts as well as our webpages. In the future we will be using it to direct users to specific content, for contests, non-public access, and to monitor the success of print advertising we will be running.

    It’s pretty cool; I embedded the company logo within the QR Code as well….looks neat

  4. QR codes have such an interesting use within the markcomm sector. Perhaps a future blog sharing your experiences?

Leave a comment