Nearing The Finish Line

Posted: May 28, 2012 in Uncategorized

So….I’m almost done my assignment.  I did a lot of research, but mostly just relied on past experiences.  The articles I did read were very informative, and there’s nothing better than having to do an assignment that is also of personal interest.

It reminds me of when I was in college and one of my electives was “The History of Rock n’ Roll” and my homework was to read the chapter about Led Zeppelin; meanwhile I had already read that the day that I purchased the book.

I’m excited to read everyone’s reports, I’m sure there will be some very interesting topics/blogs.  I’m curious to see if anyone else did the music industry as well.  I hope people find my assignment interesting and can somewhat relate to how the music industry and artists are utilizing social media in the modern age.

The music industry has been forced to make a lot of changes, especially on the business end of things since downloading has taken over, CD sales are drastically down, and that audio is so readily available across numerous avenues.

I was young when the vinyl record was being phased out, but I remember the product life-cycle of the cassette, the CD, the MP3, the Napster revolution, and now the iTunes generation.  I love how easy it is to buy and enjoy music and can’t wait to see how the industry continues to evolve and the efforts it will take for the labels to succeed as the profit margins dwindle.

The Financial Post (click here) had an interesting article about the downturn of physical copies of music and the growth in digital.  People continue to steal music and also have a number of commercial free options such as YouTube, but it is such an incredible art form and no matter what, music will always be the soundtrack to life.

Anyway, I will be posting my blog assignment tonight.  I hope you enjoy it.

Leave a comment